University of Central Florida

My flight back up north from a perfect weekend in Florida!

Hello all!

To start off this post — my attempt at a “creative” photoshop edit from my flight back from Orlando, FL to Philadelphia, PA this morning. I took a picture out the window in Orlando, two in the air, and one when I landed in Philly. I tried to blend them together, but it’s pretty clear that I have a lot more practicing to do! (I also added the not-so-little UCF logo just because that’s where I was, and I’m pretty sure it’s my favorite place in the world to be!)

Anyway, this past weekend I ventured on down to Orlando, FL to visit my boyfriend who is a student at the University of Central Florida. For this trip, I don’t have any tips for cheap airfare (this trip was a gift to me, so I didn’t pay for my flight) however, I can help let you know ways to get a lot of fun in Orlando at some of the parks down there for a much less expensive cost!

My boyfriend, Troy, and I went to Wet ‘n’ Wild, a very amusing water park in the heart of Orlando with some friends Paul and Amanda. Now, because I was with the three of them, they were able to purchase our tickets through UCF at a discounted price, but after browsing their website ( www.wetnwildorlando.com ), I’ve come to notice that if you are a student, forget the $47.95 DAILY adult cost to enter Wet ‘n’ Wild, and make sure you bring your college ID to the ticket booth to knock down the price to $23.98 !!!

How perfect is that? That price even goes for students from out of Florida as well! Believe me, too, Wet ‘n’ Wild is one of the most fun water parks I’ve ever been too! (It’s no Schiltterbahn in Texas or Blizzard Beach, also in Orlando), but there are some incredibly fun rides there.

Two of my favorites are Brain Wash (a group slide) and Bomb Bay (a single-rider slide). Both of which I have videos of, compliments of YouTube, however. My camera isn’t waterproof, so I didn’t bring mine with me!

(Brain Wash)

(Bomb Bay) When you ride Bomb Bay, you stand in the “bomb” and you are leaning back against a wall, when out of nowhere, the floor drops from beneath you and you fall right under! It’s so fun!

So, if you’re looking at visiting a new place and there are some pricier things you’re interested in doing, make sure you check for student discounts if you bring your school ID! Sometimes there are things you can find online to say to whoever is in the ticket booth (like, “welcome home”) that will show the teller you’ve seen the website, which, in turn will get you a discount!

One thought on “University of Central Florida

  1. Edna Mundo says:

    This was so informative. I have two sons who are in graduate school up in NYC. I will pass this information on to them to use when booking flights down here to Florida when they visit me as well as any other trips they might take. Thanks!

Leave a comment